Constitutional Court of Niger: Appointment of a new president

After their appointment by decree on Friday, March 08, 2019, three (3) members of the Constitutional Court were sworn in. It is the President of the Republic, Head of State, HE Issoufou Mahamadou who presided over the swearing-in ceremony. It is :

Mr Bouba Mahamane, appointed by the President of the Republic; new President of the Court

Mr Mamane Bassirou Amadou, representative of the magistrates; Member

Mr Gandou Zakara, – representing the Teacher-researchers. Member. The latter two were elected by their peers.

The Constitutional Court, it is recalled, is the competent court in electoral and constitutional matters, its decisions are without recourse. It has 7 members for a non-renewable six-year term: 2 peer-elected judges, a peer-elected lawyer, a peer-reviewed public law teacher-researcher, a representative of elected human rights associations and two personalities appointed by the President of the Republic and the Office of the National Assembly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.